Truro City 3 Falmouth Town 2

Town put on the pressure

A great effort from Town but a 76th minute overhead kick from Keifer Moore saw Truro regain the Aubrey Wilkes Trophy following their defeat by the same score in last year’s match at Bickland.

The home side took the lead in the 7th minute through Yetton and on 22 minutes former Town favourite Jake Ash scored a great goal from 25 yards to make it  2-0.   The score was harsh on Town and Dan Magee’s 42nd minute looping shot from 20 yards to reduce the deficit was well deserved.

On 57 minutes Falmouth grabbed the equaliser when the City keeper spilled Wayne Quinn’s powerful free kick and  Matt Drummond was on hand to grab a poacher’s  goal.  Town fans began to believe their team could retain the trophy but another very good Truro strike gave the Blue Square side a narrow victory.

Town team:

1.  Jason Chapman 2.  Kirk Davies (James Greet 85m)  3. Jamie Devine  4.  Wayne Quinn  5.  Matt Laity  6.  Ross Pope (Bradley Wills 85m)  7.  Dan Magee (Karl Turner 74m)  8.  Mark Vercesi  (capt.)  9.  Andy Westgarth (Matt Shiels 63m)   10.  Matt Drummond   11.  Dan Richardson.   Unused Sub,  Lewis Caspell.

(photo courtesy of Dave Deacon)